Feed the Hungry: Help soup kitchens

wp-PPYR-NoSweatYork-9611-IMAG1272I know this is late, but for December, I tried to focus on “Feed the Hungry” for the Jubilee of Mercy.

My husband and I do help out our local food pantries, when our church asks for food and nonperishable donations about once every other month. I will utilize coupons to gather a nice group of items to give away, and I go through my pantries, as well. The place we help the most is the Catholic Harvest Food Pantry, but there are also York County Food Bank and the Emmanuel Food Pantry, to name a few.

However, I know we can be doing more.

Awhile ago, I saw that my church helps out the Our Daily Bread soup kitchen in York City. Many churches in our county help out the kitchen by donating casseroles to feed the hungry. My church does this the first Friday of every month. I thought this was a good way to get involved with the local community more, by helping those who are less fortunate get a good meal.

I usually make one casserole, but I am thinking about making more, or volunteering my time at the kitchen. The recipe below calls for ground beef, but I am a vegan, so I make it vegetarian.

Taco noodle casserole

Serves 8 or more

Ingredients

  • One pound of elbow macaroni
  • Two packages of vegetarian ground beef crumbles or 2 pounds ground beef
  • One package of dry taco seasoning mix
  • Two 11-ounce cans of Campbell’s cheddar cheese soup
  • One 16-ounce can of stewed or diced tomatoes (or defrosted container of homemade stewed tomatoes)
  • One cup of soymilk

Directions

  1. Boil water and cook macaroni according to directions on the box. Drain and set aside.
  2. Brown vegetarian ground beef or real beef in a skillet.
  3. After 5 minutes, add defrosted tomatoes with juices and cook for 10 minutes.
  4. Add taco seasoning, cheese soup and soymilk.
  5. Stir and then add macaroni. This is an art: I added half the macaroni to the aluminum pan and half the fake ground beef mixture. I stirred this together, and then added the remaining macaroni to the skillet. Stir the skillet contents and then added it to the aluminum pan to fill it out.
  6. Cover with foil.
  7. Cook covered for 30 to 45 minutes at 350 degrees.
  8. It can be frozen and thawed easily for a quick dinner.
One thought on “Feed the Hungry: Help soup kitchens

Leave a Reply

